Short Fuse

Standard

Today has not been my shiniest moment as a parent. I have not been as patient as I should have been. I have not been as kind or as understanding. I did not take every chance I could to tell my child how much I love him and I let too many teachable moments slip by.

I was too busy, too tired or had too many other things going on. All of these things may be true, but they are also excuses. And I don’t want to make excuses. So I won’t.

I am far from perfect and I don’t expect my children to be either. We both make mistakes and we are both capable of learning from them and moving on. Today might not have started on a positive note, but I have the ability to make sure it ends on one so that tomorrow, and each day, we can have a fresh start. And that’s exactly what I did.

Besides, there is no point arguing with a tiny version of yourself. You will never win.

2 thoughts on “Short Fuse

  1. In writing this, you’re already better than most parents. You seem like such a sensitive woman and I can feel the love you have for your kids just from reading this. Don’t be too hard on yourself.

Leave a Reply

